2014 Primary Election Results in Howell

Six Republican candidates sought voter approval to run for three Council member seats.

Howell had one of the few contested primary races in Monmouth County on Tuesday. Six candidates sought the Republican Party nod to pursue three Council member positions. 

Incumbents Robert Nicastro, Pauline M. Smith and Robert F. Walsh won over Michelle O. Flaherty, Allen Kaplan and Matthew Rasmussen.

With 32 out of 32 districts reporting, the vote tally was: 

Nicastro - 924 votes
Smith - 915 votes
Walsh - 900 votes
Flaherty - 629 votes
Kaplan - 605 votes
Rasmussen -591 votes

Candidates ran unopposed in the race for Monmouth County Freeholder. Republican Incumbents Lillian G. Burry and Gary J. Rich won nominations for two, four-year terms. Democrats Joe Grillo and Larry Luttrell won their party's nominations. 

Lucretia B June 04, 2014 at 10:36 AM
Republicans I don't mind....but Pauline Smith??? She needs to retire.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »